My new adventure in car restoration AKA VW super beetles

So this saw palmetto berry season I made a few hundred bucks. me and my boyfriend I found a 1972 Volkswagen super beetle for really cheap. We bought it and now we are looking for ways to restore it. I have always wanted an old bug and I wanted to learn to rebuild it from scratch. This one might be more than I can handle.  I have my boyfriend who has gone to school to become a mechanic and a friend who is a mechanic on the daily. 

20190809_120701

This is the new car. We have not come up for a name for her . you can leave suggestions for one in the comments or on my social.  My boyfriend wants to name her patches because we are patching her together.

I am going to need a lot of parts she is rusty and was in pieces when we got her. There is an engine and a transmission but I don’t know how bad they are yet. The engine is locked up. the frame is twisted because they dropped her when the moved her here from Ohio. The fenders didn’t make it in the fall. the front and back aprons are bad. The floor pans are gone but most cars her age are like that. the carburetor was laying in a puddle of water in the trunk so, don’t know if it can be rebuilt. We found some more VW parts but they are from older and younger cars.

A few days ago one of the guys we had bought parts from, Wanted his yard clean of the two VW bugs he had and we couldn’t resist free cars.  he had slightly newer bugs and they are not super beetle but we need patch metal and seats, so off we went to get them.

20191017_154327

This is the first one we brought home. She is what I believe to be a 1974 sun bug but she is more rusted and full of wasp. the back end is locked up we had to chain her to a tree and pull her off the trailer. It could be the brake or the bearing causing this but I don’t know.

TbareMineralshe second free bug isn’t here yet. She is just the body so I need more manpower to get that one. I will update when I get it here.

I anyone would like to give advice and or donate to this project. I would be very grateful. I have a patron in my about section. if you want to follow me on my social they are available there too.

Update: got the second bug today and it wasn’t that hard. We put it on wood and wenched it on the trailer. which it might be its forever home till we deconstruct it.

bareMinerals

Leave a comment